Manu Ginobili Contemplating Retirement

Manu Ginobli, Spurs' Star, is contemplating retirement.

Manu Ginobili, Spurs’ Star, is contemplating retirement.

Similar to how the Knick’s Jason Kidd retired after his postseason struggles, Manu is having the same thought process. Known to be one of the Spurs key offensive players, Ginobili has struggled mightily against the Heat thus far. In four games of the Finals, he has averaged 7.5 PPG, FG% 34.5, 3.0 APG, and 1.5RPG.

The 35-year-old will be turning 36, and has played 10 seasons in the NBA. In combination with the years prior to his professional career, Ginobili has played an incredible amount of basketball. So it is understandable that he has grown weary of the sport. In an interview with ESPN, Ginobili said:

Manu Ginobli contemplates retirement.

A young Manu Ginobli.

“I really don’t know,” he said.  ”All season long I kind of knew that I was going to play one or two more years. But when you are 36 [years old] — I’m going to be 36 pretty soon — everything is a day-by-day basis. Once the season finishes and I see how I feel, I can’t imagine me not playing at least one more year here, but time will tell. We’ll see.”

He does admit to being reluctant to retiring as:

“Sometimes I do think about retirement. But then I say, ‘No, no. I love what I do. I’m very lucky to be in a franchise like this. So I really can’t picture myself being retired already.’

“Threre’s a small chance. It’s not that I’m really considering, but I can never say ‘no’ for sure, because I sometimes consider it.”

It will be interesting to see what he and the other Spurs “old timers” decide to do.

Here is a tribute to Ginobili’s career:

 

One thought on “Manu Ginobili Contemplating Retirement

Comment below to share your thoughts!

