Michael Jordan and Patrick Ewing Could Have Played Together At UNC

Patrick Ewing works for Michael Jordan and the Charlotte Bobcats.

Michael Jordan and Patrick Ewing, once rivals now work together at the Charlotte Bobcats.

Patrick Ewing often gets lost in the discussion the greatest players in NBA history. This is understandable because his lack of a ring. What is interesting is that he is now paring up with the man who prevented him from earning that elusive championship.

Patrick Ewing signed as an assistant coach for the Michael Jordan owned Charlotte Bobcats.  The two have been great friends for a long time, as they were two of the premiere players of their era. This friendship could have began earlier as Ewing nearly accepted a scholarship to play at UNC.

One thing that kept him was crickets. Yes, the 7’0 footer chose not to go to UNC in part to crickets. In an interview with ESPN,

“In North Carolina, you hear all the crickets.””It gets pitch black and I’d hear all the crickets. And I’m jumping and I’m like, ‘What the heck?’ So I said, ‘No, I’m going back home.'”

Probably the bigger factor was the fact that the at the hotel he stayed at there was a KKK rally.
“When I went down there, they put me in that Carolina Inn and there was a big Ku Klux Klan rally in North Carolina when I was there,” Ewing said. “And I’m like, ‘You know what? I’m not coming down here. I’m staying my butt back in Boston.”

Can’t fault him on that one, but it would have definitely been interesting to see what Jordan and Ewing would have been capable of in college.

Comment below to share your thoughts!

